Especially for you, if you are new!

A grade 9 student arrives at HDCH on the first day of school last September. It’s going to look a bit different this year! 

Parents, Guardians and Students new to HDCH: We welcome you! 

There is a lot to think about when you start at a new school. 

The School Day runs from  9 a.m to 3:00 pm.

  • Morning class  9-11:30
  • Lunch 11:30-12:30
  • Afternoon class 12:30-3:00. 

There will be breaks during classes; we’ll be staggering those to minimize how many students are out of their classrooms at a given time.

Student timetables, information on how to connect to HD email and Edsby, and a school map are in the mail to new students.

Edsby ~ Learning Management Platform

Edsby is a good way to stay connected to what’s going on around HDCH. For students, it’s where you’ll find your classes — see who else is in your classes with you — and it’s one of the places your teachers will communicate with you. For parents, Edsby is where we track attendance and where learning reports will be posted, among other things. Here’s a link to a short video explaining how Edsby works for parents. And there’s an app!

New parents, please set up your Edsby account. You will have received an email with an invitation to join; if not, just contact info@hdch.org and Kris Slootweg will be happy to assist you. 

Transportation – Info is here. HDCH doesn’t run its own buses, other than a route from Burlington. We rely upon area grade schools (Jarvis, Brantford, CCS, Providence) bringing our students. If a grade school is unable to accommodate this year, options would be public transportation, parent drop off, or carpool.

Wardrobe information is here, and It covers clothing for regular classes. HD does not have a gym uniform. Students can bring their own clothes for basic gym class: running shoes, comfortable shorts and a t-shirt.

Staff Support

HDCH staff members are here to answer questions and to offer you support. Here’s who to contact about common questions or concerns.

Attendance, General Questions
Kris Slootweg, Director of First Impressions
kslootweg@hdch.org

Finances, Tuition, Tuition Assistance
Sherry Osinga, Director of Finance
sosinga@hdch.org

Course selection, Academic pathways, Student wellness
James Apers, Director of Student Services
japers@hdch.org

Learning support, Study skills
Aline Koiter, Learning Coordinator
akoiter@hdch.org

Community, Student life, leadership, and wellness
Owen Webb, Dean of Students
owebb@hdch.org

School leadership
Duncan Todd, Principal
dtodd@hdch.org

Student enrollment, Covid safety and protocols
Cheryl Webb, Director of Operations
cwebb@hdch.org

 

Posted in: FYI